Updated on 2026-09-23 GMT+08:00

Deleting User Groups

If an IAM user group is no longer needed, you can delete it. User groups can be deleted individually or in batches.

  • Deleting a user group modifies permissions for all associated users, invalidating their tokens. Affected users must re-obtain their tokens. Before deleting a user group, ensure that no services will be impacted and that the token acquisition logic includes a retry mechanism.
  • If the user group has associated users, click the number in the Users column to review user information before proceeding. After a user group is deleted, its members are automatically removed and lose all permissions inherited from that group.

Deleting a User Group

To delete a user group, do the following:

  1. Log in to the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose User Groups.
  2. In the user group list, click Delete in the row that contains the user group to be deleted.

    Figure 1 Deleting a user group

  3. In the displayed dialog box, enter DELETE and click OK.

    After the user group is deleted, it will no longer be displayed in the user group list.

Deleting User Groups in Batches

To delete multiple user groups at a time, do the following:

  1. Log in to the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose User Groups.
  2. In the user group list, select the user groups to be deleted and click Delete above the list.

    Figure 2 Batch deleting user groups

  3. In the displayed dialog box, enter DELETE and click OK.

    After the user groups are deleted, they will not be displayed in the user group list.