Updated on 2026-09-17 GMT+08:00

Memories

When the memory feature is enabled, AI automatically records your preferences, usage patterns, project context, and key decisions to deliver a more personalized experience.

Constraints

Table 1 Constraints

Category

Description

Mode

This function can be used only in agent mode.

Quantity

  • User-level: ≤ 20
  • Project-level: ≤ 200; total size: ≤ 25 KB

Memory Categories

Memories are categorized into project-level memories and user-level memories by application scope. Project-level memories take priority over user-level memories.

Table 2 Memory categories

Category

Memorized content

Effective Scope

Storage Path

Description

Project-level memory

  • User information, such as identity, responsibilities, objectives, and preferences.
  • Project information, such as background, timeline, milestones, and external facts.
  • Feedback, such as suggestions for improving the response style and collaboration workflow.
  • References, such as pointers to external systems or documents.

The current project of a user.

%USERPROFILE%/.codeartsdoer/memory/Project path-Project name

Project-related characteristics are recorded to help maintain a consistent style within the project.

User-level memory

  • Technology stacks and professional domains: such as programming languages, frontend/backend frameworks, and styling solutions.
  • Coding styles and specifications: such as naming conventions and code organization methods.
  • Interaction and prompt habits: such as language preferences, role settings, and preferred depth of explanation.

All projects of a user.

%USERPROFILE%/.codeartsdoer/codearts-data/opencode.db

User usage patterns from conversation history are summarized to tailor the experience to your preferences.

Enabling Memories

  1. Log in to CodeArts Agent IDE as instructed in Quick Start.
  2. Click in the upper right corner to open the global setting page.
  3. Choose Experience and Memory, and enable the memory function.

    Figure 1 Enabling the memory function

  4. After the memory function is enabled, simply chat with the AI. The system automatically records your usage preferences.

    In addition to automatic recording, you can send the following instructions to let the AI actively manage memories:

    • Remember ***: Save explicit memories immediately.
    • Delete ***: Delete existing memories.
    • Organize existing memories: Manually review and optimize existing memories.

Exporting Project-level Memories

Export and package your project preference configurations. These can be directly imported and used in other projects, eliminating the need for repeated setup and letting the AI immediately apply your customized habits.

  1. Log in to CodeArts Agent IDE as instructed in Quick Start.
  2. Click in the upper right corner to open the global setting page.
  3. On the Experience and Memory tab, choose Memory > Project, and click Import.
  4. Click Copy, and then paste the prompt into the chat window. The system will export your project-level preferences based on the prompt.

    After the export is complete, a .codeagent-memory-export.md file is generated in the root directory of your project.

Importing Project-level Memories

Import existing project preference configurations to let the AI directly apply your usage habits.

  1. Log in to CodeArts Agent IDE as instructed in Quick Start.
  2. Click in the upper right corner to open the global setting page.
  3. On the Experience and Memory tab, choose Memory > Project, and click Import.
  4. Click Click to upload a file, select the project memory file .codeagent-memory-export.md, and click Start Import.

    After the import is successful, you can view the imported project-level memories on the Project tab.

Managing Memory Records

Table 3 Managing memory records

Operation

Procedure

Modifying memory information

On the settings page, choose Memory > Project or Memory > Personal, hover the cursor over the memory information to be modified, and click .
CAUTION:

Modifying stored user-level memory information is not recommended. After the memory information is modified, it will not be automatically updated.

Deleting memory information

  1. On the settings page, choose Memory > Project or Memory > Personal, hover the cursor over the memory information to be deleted, and click .
  2. In the displayed dialog box, click Delete to permanently delete the memory information.
    CAUTION:

    Deleted memory information cannot be restored. Exercise caution when performing this operation.