Updated on 2026-06-15 GMT+08:00

Stopping a Backup

Scenarios

You can stop a backup that is being created and then delete it.

Constraints

  • You can stop an automated full backup, manual full backup, or database-level backup that is being created.
  • After a backup is stopped, it will not be billed and can be deleted.
  • A backup that is being replicated or a CBR snapshot-based backup that is being created cannot be stopped.
  • This function can only be used when there is much data to be backed up and creating the backup takes too long.
  • You are advised not to stop the first automated full backup after an instance is changed or restored. Forcibly stopping that backup may cause incremental and differential backups between the current time and the next automated full backup to fail, and point-in-time recovery (PITR) may be unavailable. Do not stop that backup unless absolutely necessary.

Procedure

  1. Log in to the RDS console.
  2. Click in the upper left corner and select a region.
  3. On the Instances page, click the DB instance name.
  4. In the navigation pane on the left, choose Backups & Restorations.
  5. On the Full Backups tab page, click Stop Full Backup.
  6. In the displayed dialog box, click Auto Enter to enter YES, and click OK.
  7. After the backup is stopped, its Description column shows stopBackup. You can delete the stopped backup.
  1. Log in to the RDS console.
  2. Click in the upper left corner and select a region.
  3. On the Instances page, click the DB instance name.
  4. In the navigation pane on the left, choose Backups & Restorations.
  5. On the Database Backups tab page, click Stop Database-Level Backup.
  6. In the displayed dialog box, click Auto Enter to enter YES, and click OK.
  7. After the backup is stopped, its Description column shows stopBackup. You can delete the stopped backup.