Updated on 2026-06-15 GMT+08:00

Deleting a Manual Backup

Scenarios

You can delete manual backups to free up backup storage.

Constraints

  • Deleted manual backups cannot be recovered.
  • The following backups cannot be deleted:
    • Manual backups that are in progress
    • Automated backups
    • Backups that are being used for restoration
    • Backups that are being replicated

Procedure

  1. Log in to the RDS console.
  2. Click in the upper left corner and select a region.
  3. In the navigation pane, choose Backups.
  4. On the Backups page, locate the target backup and choose More > Delete in the Operation column.
  5. In the displayed dialog box, click Yes.
  6. If you have enabled operation protection, click Send Code in the displayed Identity Verification dialog box and enter the obtained verification code. Then, click OK.

    Two-factor authentication improves the security of your account and cloud product. For details about how to enable operation protection, see Identity and Access Management User Guide.