Help Center/ Object Storage Service/ FAQs/ How Do I Use Lifecycle Management?/ Why Does the Storage Usage Not Decrease After Versioning Is Enabled and Objects Are Deleted Using Lifecycle Rules?
Updated on 2026-09-14 GMT+08:00

Why Does the Storage Usage Not Decrease After Versioning Is Enabled and Objects Are Deleted Using Lifecycle Rules?

Possible Causes

After versioning is enabled, when an object is deleted, OBS inserts a delete marker to indicate that the current version of the object is in the deleted state. The original object becomes a historical version and continues to occupy storage space.

Versions with delete markers do not occupy storage space and are free of charge. Objects of other versions occupy storage space and are billed.

Solution

Configure another lifecycle rule for historical versions to delete expired objects.

Figure 1 Deleting historical versions upon expiration