Help Center/ Cloud Backup and Recovery/ FAQs/ Restoration/ Can a Server Be Restored from Its Backups After It Is Changed?
Updated on 2026-10-26 GMT+08:00

Can a Server Be Restored from Its Backups After It Is Changed?

Yes. If a server has been backed up and later modified (for example, by adding, deleting, or expanding disks), its existing backups can still be used to restore data. However, it is recommended that you perform another backup after making such changes.

If you add a disk after a backup and then restore data from that backup, the data on the newly added disk remains unchanged.

If you delete a disk after a backup and then restore data from that backup, the data on the deleted disk will not be restored.

If you change the server OS after a backup and then restore the original system disk from the system disk backup, the restoration will fail because the disk UUID has changed. Similarly, if the server OS or image ID has changed after a server backup, direct restoration is not supported. In such cases, you need to switch back to the original OS or reinstall it on the server before performing the restoration.