Updated on 2026-09-03 GMT+08:00

Deleting a Cluster

When an OpenSearch cluster is no longer required (for example, after a project is decommissioned or a temporary environment is retired), you can delete the cluster to release compute and storage resources and stop billing. Cluster deletion is an irreversible high-risk operation that permanently removes all data in the cluster. Before deleting a cluster, ensure that all the required data has been backed up.

Before You Start

Cluster deletion is an irreversible high-risk operation. Before proceeding, confirm the following:

  • Data has been backed up: Ensure that cluster data has been backed up to an OBS bucket using snapshots. Without backups, the data will be permanently lost once deleted.
  • There are no ongoing tasks: Check cluster monitoring metrics and ensure that both the average indexing rate and average query rate are 0, indicating that the cluster has no ongoing tasks.
  • Snapshot availability has been confirmed: If snapshots have been enabled for the cluster and snapshots are still retained in the OBS bucket, you can use these snapshots to restore data later if necessary. For details, see Can a Deleted CSS Cluster Be Restored?
  • VPC Endpoint permissions have been confirmed: If the cluster has enabled the VPC Endpoint service, the account that you use must have permission to delete VPC endpoints. Otherwise, VPC endpoint resources cannot be released after cluster deletion, and you will continue to be charged for them. For details about how to configure this permission, see section "Permissions" in the VPC Endpoint User Guide.
  • Dedicated load balancer configuration has been confirmed: If the cluster is connected through a dedicated load balancer (ELB), deleting the cluster releases the load balancer's listener resources. However, you must manually delete the ELB to prevent further charges.

Deleting a Pay-per-Use Cluster

The cluster is deleted immediately, resources are released, and pay-per-use billing stops.

  1. Log in to the CSS management console.
  2. In the navigation pane on the left, choose Clusters > OpenSearch.
  3. In the cluster list, find the target cluster, and choose More > Delete in the Operation column.
  4. In the displayed dialog box, read the risk warning carefully and enter DELETE in the text box.
  5. Click OK.

    After the cluster is deleted, it is removed from the cluster list.

FAQ

  • Q1: Will snapshots stored in an OBS bucket be deleted together with the cluster?

    No. Deleting a cluster only releases its compute and storage resources. Snapshots stored in OBS will be retained. You can use these snapshots to restore data to a new cluster. However, note that you will continue to be charged for OBS storage. If you do not need these snapshots, manually delete them.

  • Q2: Can data be restored if a cluster is accidentally deleted?

    If the cluster has snapshots stored in an OBS bucket, you can restore its data from one of these snapshots. If snapshots were never enabled or no snapshots were ever created for the cluster, then there is no way to restore cluster data. For production clusters, enable an automatic snapshot policy to create snapshots periodically and reduce the risk of data loss.