Can a Server Be Restored from Its Backups After It Is Changed?
Yes. If a server has been backed up and later modified (for example, by adding, deleting, or expanding disks), its existing backups can still be used to restore data. However, it is recommended that you perform another backup after making such changes.
If you add a disk after a backup and then restore data from that backup, the data on the newly added disk remains unchanged.
If you delete a disk after a backup and then restore data from that backup, the data on the deleted disk will not be restored.
If you change the server OS after a backup and then restore the original system disk from the system disk backup, the restoration will fail because the disk UUID has changed. Similarly, if the server OS or image ID has changed after a server backup, direct restoration is not supported. In such cases, you need to switch back to the original OS or reinstall it on the server before performing the restoration.
What is your overall rating for this page?
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will continue working to improve the documentation.See the reply and handling status in My Cloud VOC.
For any further questions, feel free to contact us through the chatbot.
Chatbot