Managing a Workspace
A workspace is the basic unit for isolating and managing service resources in DataArts Studio. This section describes how to perform routine management operations on workspaces, including editing, enabling, disabling, pinning to the top, deleting, viewing the quota usage of, and managing the tags of workspaces.
Prerequisites
Before performing management operations, ensure that the following requirements are met.
| Operation Type | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Common operations (editing, enabling, and disabling workspaces, viewing quotas, and adding, editing, and deleting tags) | Either of the following conditions:
|
| Deletion |
|
Editing a Workspace
You can modify the configuration of a workspace, such as updating the description, adjusting the OBS storage path, changing the enterprise project, or managing member permissions.
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace and click Edit. Figure 1 Edit
- In the displayed Workspace Information dialog box, modify parameters by referring to Table 1 Parameters for creating a workspace.
- Click OK to save the changes.
When editing the workspace, you cannot change tags. For details about how to change tags, see Adding, Editing, and Deleting Tags. You can add workspace members (see Managing Workspace Members and Roles for details) and set workspace quotas (see Setting Workspace Quotas for details).
Managing Workspace Members and Roles
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace and click Edit. Figure 2 Edit
- In the displayed Workspace Information dialog box, perform the following operations in the Workspace Members area.
Table 1 Managing workspace members and roles Operation
Step
Adding members
- Click Add.
- In the displayed dialog box, set required parameters. Figure 3 Adding members
- Click OK to add members.
Removing members
- In the member list, select the members you want to remove.
- Click Remove.
- Click OK to remove members.
Editing the roles of a member
- In the member list, locate the target member and click Edit.
- In the displayed dialog box, change the roles of the member.
- Click OK to save the change.
Disabling a Workspace
A workspace is enabled by default after it is created. You can disable it as needed, for example, in case of project suspension or personnel adjustment.
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace, click More, and select Disable Workspace. Figure 4 Disabling a workspace
- In the displayed dialog box, read the impact description carefully.
- Confirm the information and click OK.
After a workspace is disabled:
- You cannot access the workspace, edit it, or view its quotas.
- The jobs running in the workspace will stop.
- The CDM clusters and DIS streams you have purchased in the workspace will still be billed. Release unnecessary resources in a timely manner.
Enabling a Workspace
You can enable a workspace that has been disabled. After that, the workspace runs properly and becomes accessible again.
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace, click More, and select Enable Workspace. Figure 5 Enabling a workspace
- In the displayed dialog box, confirm the operation.
- Click OK.
Pinning a Workspace to the Top
You can pin the workspace you use most frequently to the top of the list so that you can quickly access it.
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace, click More, and select Pin to Top. Figure 6 Pinning a workspace to the top
Deleting a Workspace
If a workspace is no longer used (for example, a test workspace is no longer needed or a project is complete), and all service resources in the workspace have been cleared, you can permanently delete the workspace.
Workspace deletion is irreversible. Once deleted, all data and configurations in the workspace cannot be restored. Exercise caution when performing this operation.
Resources to be cleared for each component
| Component | Resources to Be Cleared |
|---|---|
| Management Center | Data connections |
| DataArts Migration | CDM clusters |
| DataArts Architecture | Subject design, logical models, standard design, physical models, dimensional modeling, and metrics |
| DataArts Factory | Jobs, job directories, scripts, script directories, and resources |
| DataArts Quality | Quality jobs and comparison jobs |
| DataArts Catalog | Technical assets including tables and files, and metadata collection tasks |
| DataArts DataService | DataArts DataService clusters, APIs, and apps |
| DataArts Security | Sensitive data discovery tasks, masking policies, static masking tasks, and data watermarking tasks |
Procedure
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace, click More, and select Delete. Figure 7 Deleting a workspace
- In the displayed dialog box, enter DELETE to confirm the operation.
If there are still service resources for component, a dialog box is displayed, listing the types of resources that have not been cleared. Delete the corresponding resources as prompted and try again.
- Click OK to delete the workspace.
Viewing Quota Usage
You can view the quota usage of different resources in a workspace to determine whether to purchase incremental packages.
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace and click Quota Usage. Figure 8 Viewing the quota usage
- In the displayed dialog box, view the quota usage of different resources in the workspace.
- Click OK to close the dialog box.
Adding, Editing, and Deleting Tags
If you have multiple workspaces, you can add tags to classify them by user, operator, or purpose. On the workspace list page, you can search for workspaces by tag.
Constraints
- You can add up to 20 tags to each workspace.
- Each tag key must be unique. Only one tag value can be added to a tag key.
- If your account belongs to an organization and the organization has configured DataArts Studio tag policies, you need to add tags based on these policies. If tags do not comply with the tag policies, instance creation may fail.
Procedure
- Log in to the DataArts Studio console.
For details, see Accessing the DataArts Studio Instance Console.
- On the Workspaces page, locate the target workspace and click Tags. Figure 9 Tags
- In the displayed dialog box, perform the following operations.
Table 2 Tag operations Operation
Step
Adding/Editing tags
- Click Add/Edit Tag.
- To delete an added tag, click ✕ on the right of the tag.
- To add a tag, enter the tag key and value in the Enter a tag key and Enter a tag value text boxes, respectively, and click Add.
NOTE:To select predefined tags, ensure that you have created tags in TMS. You can click View predefined tags to enter the Predefined Tag page of TMS. Then, click Create Tag to create a predefined tag. For details, see Creating Predefined Tags in Tag Management Service User Guide.
Deleting a tag
- In the tag list, locate the tag you want to delete.
- Click Delete Tag.
- In the displayed dialog box, click OK to delete the tag.
Related APIs
| API | Description |
|---|---|
| This API is used to edit a workspace. | |
| This API is used to delete a workspace. |
What is your overall rating for this page?
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will continue working to improve the documentation.See the reply and handling status in My Cloud VOC.
For any further questions, feel free to contact us through the chatbot.
Chatbot